Posted in Life

Dis C o n n e c t ed

For the most part, any of us are disconnected with the world we live in and on. Oh, I clearly understand we interact with each other, feel the sun and air around as we move through our days. I mean, we have become further and further disconnected with the grass, dirt, a carrot pulled from the ground or patiently caring for and waiting for the watermelon or cantaloupe to ripen in our garden. I moved recently, and I miss mine.

As we walk through the cities and work in our offices, even car on the long commutes how much connection do you really have with the ground beneath your feet or the food that you eat? Sure we have a lunch on the grass or walk on a trail now and then, but really how do we do with the time that we spend?

It disconnect continues to grow, in the foods that we do not grow ourselves, in our own state, or even in our own country. I know it is difficult, as I have said this before. We are busy, reading the labels are tiresome (and the print is very small), understanding them is complex and downright confusing to the individual that actually takes the time to attempt to understand what’s in what I am about to buy and eat. And, because I just don’t want to jade my last hopes on growing my own food, I will not speak of what our ground where we may plant our own gardens may have in them.

In a few blogs back I suggested one possible alternative to our over production of beef (not the only meat), in our country and the detriments to our land, air, water and the meat itself. Imagine reconnecting to our land, food, water, air and seeing the sky. All while growing your own food, contributing to your own local food stores, and making money from it. I forgot for a second, there is also exercise and perhaps an old boom box you can find to play the “radio” or plug in the iPod… while you’re pulling weeds, hoeing or harvesting your green beans, tomatoes, radishes… You need this, or you may want this. Or not. But we all need this.

The CAFO’s we have in this country are a blight to our society and our way of life. I’m sure if we tried, and we probably have, attempted to confine our vegetables to an extremely small space of land to grow, they would not grow well. We can genetically modify or nutritionally enhance our earthen grown food, and we may find that that is all and well for us. But the land, air and water need to be well, as well. Well, I said well, well too often in this last sentence. Oh well.

In 2012 the average beef consumption in the U.S. was 60lbs per year. That is 1.15 lbs a week. Remember this is an average. You may or may not know that there is protein in beef, and we need protein. So, they say to eat beef. If you look and keep an open mind and believe what you research and find out, just as much as you believe what others or industries, or USDA recommends, you will find that there are other non-beef or meat alternatives for great protein.

Mix it up, be what you want to be, live how you want to live. But live healthy, work the land even a little and appreciate pulling your own food from the ground, washing it or just wiping the dirt from it, and just eat it! It’s kinda cool and taste really good. I’m glad my mom made me work in the garden, or I may not have the appreciation I do now. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t like doing the work then, and I don’t like it a little less now.

Thanks.

Author:

Raised on a 20 acre farm with all the animals in rural Indiana. Picked up rocks out of farm field before planting season, cooked in a pancake house for a couple years, worked in a factory, joined the Navy, back to the factory then College. It went by so fast.

Leave a Reply

