Posted in Life

What Will It Take

Last night I was talking with a friend of mine about my concerns with the growing population and the earth remaining the same size.  While more food and water is needed every day to sustain the human being, as well as the animals that we eat (until we eat them). There is a devastating effect on our places we call home caused by food productions sources.  We will need to change something or our well-being and our water/landscape will continue to more rapidly decay.  The decay I am speaking about is contributed largely by animal agricultural farming of the meat, poultry, dairy and crops from which they are fed, that are directly causing the loss of nutrients in the overused land, and waste spillages or spreading overuse on the land, including the overwhelming polluting and destruction of air/water quality.

Over the last several years, red meat consumption has declined and poultry has increased nearly equally.  The average intake of meat (Red, Pork and Poultry) is about .36 pounds per day.  This amount does not change much excluding number of vegans and vegetarians (Oct 14, 2014 wall street journal).   The CAFO’s and their consequences remain and continue to grow, regardless if one declines and the other increases.  Sooner rather than later, I sincerely believe will grow to an even more alarming rate, until it is right in our face (it is now, but many don’t want to look).  Then, for millions of people, it will have been too long and generations have already passed, from the standpoint they even know how to do anything for themselves to put food on the table from a truly sustainable source, or their own land and home raised livestock.

I am not saying I have the answers, but I am constantly thinking, inquiring and learning how we got ourselves into this situation.  I truly believe we were never meant to sustain ourselves by destroying where and how we live.  This was not in our Creators design.  I do want to ask you all that read this, to ask yourselves, what am I leaving behind?  What am I allowing to happen?  And, am I really ok with my answers?  Regardless of whether or not your first response is “I can’t do anything about it”.  In most cases, one person cannot.  But when there are many one person’s, they can!

If you think that in a few blogs, an answer is coming, it’s not.  There is so much imbedded corporation processes, government structure and urban growth that allows our current situation to remain, and change for the better, to be difficult.  When change like the ones I envision are needed, someone will ultimately say something to the effect, “if it isn’t affecting me or my family… why should I do anything”.  Maybe you shouldn’t (sarcasm).  Or “it’s too hard and/or inconvenient”?  Yes, maybe it is.  I am not saying for everyone to go back to the country and farm (although many should).  Just wait until it does and bitch and moan and point a finger when you sincerely feel the pain of a friend, loved one or neighbor where the consequences have hit close or even directly on your home.  I pray it never does.

Over the last several years, the concerns I have, have been heightened because of how the alternatives and options we have to eat and live well (I mean nutritionally, safely and consciously) have been limited by where we live (urban, suburban, metropolitan areas) to have a direct resource to real food.  Oh yes, we have the “Organic” by the definition of the day, Non-GMO and Antibiotic free… With 80% of our population living in urban areas and the costs of the foods we buy are increasing in cost and the nutritional completeness are lessening, we are less likely to not likely to become independent from the produced foods.

So, I will be continuing to provide you with the information to have a better understanding of several of the man-made processes that are devastating our way of life (noted in my first blog).  I would appreciate any and all comments and insight you may have after you read this and other blogs I have written.  Thank you.

Author:

Raised on a 20 acre farm with all the animals in rural Indiana. Picked up rocks out of farm field before planting season, cooked in a pancake house for a couple years, worked in a factory, joined the Navy, back to the factory then College. It went by so fast.

Leave a Reply

